Jonas Øren (b. 1988, Høyanger) is a dance artist, performer and writer, creating and performing within a range of projects for stage and film. He holds a BA in classical ballet (2009–2012) and an MA in dance (2017–2019) from Oslo National Academy of the Arts. He has also studied at Conservatoire National Superieur Music et la Danse Lyon and at The Ballet School at The Norwegian Opera and Ballet. In 2021 he is the recipient of The Norwegian Government Grant.

Øren is interested in investigating how movement, dance and choreography, underlined by references, citation and mirroring, can define and mark identity. Hybris: Choreographing Whiteness (premiered in September 2021 at Dansens Hus Oslo) is his biggest project so far. 

His final project for his MA was presented as self-portraits, four individual performances investigating the performance of the self in the staged meeting between movement, autobiography, talk show inspired interviews and guest appearances by i.a. Finn Skårderud, Camara Lundestad Joof, and Charlotte Thiis-Evensen. Strategic use of appropriation, imitation and studies of the personal and the self was used in independent co-creative projects with four choreographers: Thomas Talawa Prestø, Solveig Styve Holte and dance artists MD and Mathias Stoltenberg.  

Øren was awarded Shooting Star at RIFF R.E.D. International Film Festival (2015) for his work with dance and movement on film. He has performed works by Mia Habib (KHiO, 2018),  Janne Camilla Lyster (KHiO, 2017) and in his own creations: Truge (2016) for The Norwegian Travel Museum, The Haydn-System for Gloppen Classical Music Festival (2015), POOL BOY(2013) and UT KAST (2013). His work for the art film Rehearsal Migration, produced by T-Michael Film Lab and Finn Erik Rognan, premiered at The ASVOF Film Festival at Centre Pompidou in Paris (2014). He has acted and choreographed for film, En Dag i Juli (2018) and Rett Vest (2017), and worked with direction for music videos and fashion. 

Photography shown on this website is done by:

Hinda Fahre, Simen Øvergaard, Martin Rustad Johansen, Torkel Engström, Baard Lunde, Massimo Leardini, Yaniv Cohen, Emma Sukalic, Torjus Berglid, Rune Bendiksen.

Jonas Pedersen Øren 2019 — Oslo